How can I get a library card?
Library cards are free and available to anyone in the region. A Derby Public Library card will also allow you to check out materials from Andover, Goddard and Park City public libraries as part of the KanShare Libraries consortium. Augusta, El Dorado, Mulvane and Rose Hill libraries will join the consortium in spring 2020.
Patrons who are 16 and older need to provide a photo ID that shows their current name and address. For patrons age 15 and younger, a parent, grandparent or legal guardian will need to be present and provide a photo ID that shows their current name and address. If your photo ID does not have your current address, please bring in a piece of mail such as a bill or statement that shows your name and current address.
Please bring your library card with you when you come to the library to check out materials.
What does your library card let you do?
To log in to the library catalog or any of the services below, your login is your library card number with no spaces and your password is the last four digits of the phone number on your account.
- Use a public PC up to 3 hours a day
- Use the library’s app — DerbyLibrary on the App Store or Google Play — to check your account, renew items, place items on hold, search the library catalog, scan a book’s bar code to see if it’s in the library collection
- Use the library catalog—www.kanshare.bywatersolutions.com—to see when items are due and renew them, search the catalog, put items on hold, request items via interlibrary loan, suggest purchase recommendations for the collection
- Check out digital items (e-books and e-audiobooks) from the Sunflower eLibrary, RBDigital or Hoopla
- Use the library's online learning resources
How long can I keep the items I check out?
And how many items can I check out at a time?
|Books (unlimited checkouts)||3 weeks|
|Books on CD (limit of 10 per card)||3 weeks|
|Playaways (limit of 6 per card)||3 weeks|
|Music CDs (limit of 10 per card)||1 week|
|DVDs (limit of 6 per card) ||1 week|
|Video games (limit of 2 per card)||1 week|
|Magazines (unlimited checkouts) ||1 week|
Items may be renewed twice unless they are on hold for another patron. Interlibrary loan periods are set by the lending library and may not be renewed.
Other helpful information
Items have a four-day grace period before fines begin accruing after the due date. A fine of $.25 per item per day will begin accruing on day five, and continue accruing until the item is returned, renewed or a maximum fine of $5.00 is reached. There is no grace period on interlibrary loans. Fines on interlibrary loans begin accruing the first day after the due date.
Patrons can add an email address or cell number to their account to receive email or text-message notifications from the library. Advance notices can be emailed or texted as a reminder for items coming due. Hold notifications will be emailed when a requested item is available for pick up. Overdue notices will be sent when an item is 1 day overdue and 25 days overdue.
Patrons without an email address or SMS number on file will receive overdue notices by mail and hold notifications by phone.
How can I get a Kansas State Library e-card?
You can get a Kansas State Library e-card by coming into the Derby Library and asking the front desk staff to sign you up.
You must be a Kansas resident to get one. The e-card (we will give you a paper card with your number and login information) allows you to access digital services and online materials from the state library, inlcuding RB Digital audiobooks. The state library's RB Digital collection is different than the Derby Library's RB Digital collection, so you have access to even more titles with a statel library card.
For more detailed information about a Kansas State Library e-card, please click the blue button below.