Michael L. Printz Award Winners

The Michael L. Printz Award annually honors the best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit, each year. The award's namesake was a school librarian in Topeka, Kansas, and a marketing consultant for Econo-Clad, as well as an active member of YALSA. He has a passion for books and reading. He also appreciated the authors who wrote books for young adults and demonstrated this by initiating an author-in-residence program at his high school.

Year	Title & Author
2025	Brownstone by Samuel Teer (il. Mar Julia)
2024	The Collectors: Stories edited by A.S. King
2023	All My Rage by Sabaa Tahir
2022	Firekeeper's Daughter by Angelina Boulley
2021	Everything Sad Is Untrue (a true story) by Daniel Nayeri
2020	Dig by A.S. King
2019	The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo
2018	We Are Okay by Nina LaCour
2017	March: Book Three by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin
2016	Bone Gap by Laura Ruby
2015	I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
2014	Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick
2013	In Darkness by Nick Lake
2012	Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley
2011	Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi
2010	Going Bovine by Libba Bray
2009	Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
2008	The White Darkness by Geraldine McCaughrean
2007	American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang
2006	Looking for Alaska by John Green
2005	how i live now by Meg Rosoff
2004	The First Part Last by Angela Johnson
2003	Postcards from No Man's Land by Aidan Chambers
2002	Winner Step from Heaven by An Nu
2001	Kit's Wilderness by David Almond
2000	Monster by Walter Dean Myers