Newbery Medal Winners

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Year	Title & Author
2024	The Eyes and the Impossible by David Eggers
2023	Freewater by Amina Luqman-Dawson
2022	The Last Cuentista by Donna Barba Higuera
2021	When You Trap a Tiger by Tae Keller
2020	New Kid by Jerry Craft
2019	Merci Suárez Changes Gears by Meg Medina
2018	Hello, Universe by Erin Entrada Kelly
2017	The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill
2016	Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de la Peña
2015	The Crossover by Kwame Alexander
2014	Flora & Ulysses by Kate DiCamillo
2013	The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate
2012	Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos
2011	Moon over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool
2010	When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead
2009	The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
2008	Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices from a Medieval Village by Laura Amy Schilitz
2007	Higher Power of Lucky by Susan Patron
2006	Criss Cross by Lynn Rae Perkins
2005	Kira-Kira by Cynthia Kadohata
2004	Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo
2003	Crispin: The Cross of Lead by Avi
2002	Single Shard by Linda Sue Park
2001	A Year Down Yonder by Richard Peck
2000	Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher R. Curtis
1999	Holes by Lois Sachar
1998	Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse
1997	The View from Saturday by E.L. Konigsburg
1996	The Midwife's Apprentice by Karen Cushman
1995	Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech and David Diaz
1994	The Giver by Lois Lowry
1993	Missing May by Cynthia Rylant
1992	Shiloh by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
1991	Maniac Magee by Jerry Spinelli
1990	Number the Stars by Lois Lowry
1989	Joyful Noise: Poems for Two Voices by Paul Fleischman
1988	Lincoln: A Photobiography by Russell Friedman
1987	The Whipping Boy by Sid Fleischman

Newbery Medal Winners

1986	Sarah, Plain & Tall by Patricia MacLachlan
1985	The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley
1984	Dear Mr. Henshaw by Beverly Cleary
1983	Dicey's Song by Cynthia Voigt
1982	A Visit to William Blake's Inn by Nancy Willard
1981	Jacob Have I Loved by Katherine Paterson
1980	A Gathering of Days by Joan W. Blos
1979	The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin
1978	Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson
1977	Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor
1976	The Grey King by Susan Cooper
1975	M.C. Higgins, the Great by Virginia Hamilton
1974	The Slave Dancer by Paula Fox
1973	Julie of the Wolves by Jean Craighead George
1972	Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH by Robert C. O'Brien
1971	Summer of the Swans by Betsy Byars
1970	Sounder by William H. Armstrong
1969	The High King by Lloyd Alexander
1968	From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg
1967	Up a Road Slowly by Irene Hunt
1966	I, Juan de Pareja by Elizabeth Borton de Trevino
1965	Shadow of a Bull by Maia Wojciechowska
1964	It's Like This Cat by Emily Cheney Neville
1963	A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L'Engle
1962	The Bronze Bow by Elizabeth George Speare
1961	Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O'Dell
1960	Onion John by Joseph Krumgold
1959	The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare
1958	Rifles for Watie by Harold Keith
1957	Miracles on Maple Hill by Virginia Sorenson
1956	Carry On, Mr. Bowditch by Jean Lee Latham
1955	Wheel on the School by Ann Nolan Clark
1954	And Now Miguel by Joseph Krumgold
1953	Secret of the Andes by Ann Nolan Clark
1952	Ginger Pye by Eleanor Estes
1951	Amos Fortune, Free Man by Elizabeth Yates
1950	The Door in the Wall by Marguerite de Angeli
1949	King of the Wind by Marguerite Henry
1948	The Twenty One Balloons by William Pene du Bois
1947	Miss Hickory by Carolyn Sherwin Bailey
1946	Strawberry Girl by Lois Lenksi
1945	Rabbit Hill by Robert Lawson
1944	Johnny Tremain by Esther Forbes

Newbery Medal Winners

Г ГГГ	
1943	Adam of the Road by Elizabeth Janet Gray
1942	The Matchlock Gun by Walter D. Edmonds
1941	Call It Courage by Armstrong Sperry
1940	Young Daniel Boone by James Daugherty
1939	Thimble Summer by Elizabeth Enright
1938	The White Stag by Kate Seredy
1937	Roller Skates by Ruth Sawyer
1936	Caddie Woodlawn by Carol Ryrie Brink
1935	Dobry by Monica Shannon
1934	Invincible Louisa by Cornelia Meigs
1933	Young Fu of the Upper Yangtze by Elizabeth Foreman Lewis
1932	Waterless Mountain by Laura Adams Armer
1931	Cat Who Went to Heaven by Elizabeth Coatsworth
1930	Hitty, Her First Hundred Years by Rachel Field
1929	Trumpeter of Krakow by Eric P. Kelly
1928	Gay-neck by Khan Gopal Mukerji
1927	Smoky, the Cowhorse by Will James
1926	Shen of the Sea by Arthur Bowie Chrisman
1925	Tales from the Silver Lands by Charles J. Finger
1924	The Dark Frigate by Charles Boardman Hawes
1923	The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle by Hugh Lofting
1922	The Story of Mankind by Hendrik Willem Van Loon