Caldecott Medal Winners

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Year	Title & Author
2024	Big by Vashti Harrison
2023	Hot Dog by Doug Salati
2022	Watercress by Andrea Wang (il. Jason Chin)
2021	We Are Water Protectors by Carole Lindstrom (il. Michaela Goade)
2020	The Undefeated by Kwame Alexander (il. Kadir Nelson)
2019	Hello Lighthouse by Sophie Blackall
2018	Wolf in the Snow by Matthew Cordell
2017	Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat by Javaka Steptoe
2016	Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World's Most Famous Bear by Lindsay Mattick (il. Sophie Blackall)
2015	The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend by Dan Santat
2014	Locomotive by Brian Floca
2013	This Is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen
2012	A Ball for Daisy by Chris Raschka
2011	A Sick Day for Amos McGee by Erin E. Stead
2010	The Lion and the Mouse by Jerry Pinkney
2009	The House in the Night by Susie Marie Swanson
2008	The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick
2007	Flotsam by David Wiesner
2006	The Hello, Goodbye Window by Norton Juster (il. Chris Raschka)
2005	Kitten's First Full Moon by Kevin Henkes
2004	The Man Who Walked Between the Towers by Mordicai Gerstein
2003	My Friend Rabbit by Eric Rohmann
2002	The Three Pigs by David Wiesner
2001	So You Want to Be President? by Judith St. George (il. David Small)
2000	Joseph Had a Little Overcoat by Simms Taback
1999	Snowflake Bentley by Jacqueline Briggs Martin (il. Mary Azarian)
1998	Rapunzel by Paul O. Zelinsky
1997	Golem by David Wisniewski
1996	Officer Buckle and Gloria by Peggy Rathman
1995	Smoky Night by Eve Bunting (il. David Diaz)
1994	Grandfather's Journey by Allen Say
1993	Mirette on the High Wire by Emily Arnold McCully
1992	Tuesday by David Wiesner
1991	Black and White by David Macaulay
1990	Lon Po Po: A Red-Riding Hood Story from China by Ed Young
1989	Song and Dance Man by Karen Ackerman (il. Stephen Gammell)
1988	Own Moon by Jane Yolen (il. John Schoenherr)

Caldecott Medal Winners

1987	Hey, Al by Arthur Yorinks (il. Richard Egielski)
1987	The Polar Express by Chris Van Allsburg
1980	Saint George and the Dragon by Margaret Hodges (il. Trina Schart Hyman)
1985	The Glorious Flight: Across the Channel with Louis Bleriot by Alice & Martin Provenson
1983	Shadow by Marcia Brown
1983	Jumanji by Chris Van Allsburg
1982	Fables by Arnold Lobel
1981	
1980	Ox-Cart Man by Donald Hall (il. Barbara Cooney) The Girl Who Loved Wild Horses by Paul Goble
1979	Noah's Ark by Peter Spier
1978	
1977	Ashanti to Zulu: African Traditions by Margaret Musgrove (il. Leo & Diane Dillon)
1970	Why Mosquitoes Buzz in People's Ears by Verna Aardema (il. Leo & Diane Dillon)Arrow to the Sun by Gerald McDermott
1973	•
	Duffy and the Devil by Harve Zemach (il. Margot Zemach)The Funny Little Woman by Arlene Mosel (il. Blair Lent)
1973	
1972	One Fine Day by Nonny Hogrogian
1971 1970	A Story A Story by Gail E. Haley Subjector and the Magia Pabble by William Staig
1970	Sylvester and the Magic Pebble by William SteigThe Fool of the World and the Flying Ship by Arthur Ransome (il. Uri Shulevtiz)
1969	
1968	Drummer Hoff by Barbara Emberley (il. Ed Emberley)
1967	Sam, Bangs & Moonshine by Evaline NessAlways Room for One More by Sorche Ni Leodhas (il. Nonny Hogrogian)
1965	May I Bring a Friend? by Beatrice Schenk de Regniers (il. Beni Montresor)
1903	Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak
1963	The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats
1962	Once a Mouse by Marcia Brown
1961	Baboushka and the Three Kings by Ruth Robbins (il. Marie Hall Ets)
1960	Nine Days to Christmas by Marie Hall Ets & Aurora Labastida (il. Marie Hall Ets)
1959	Chanticleer and the Fox by Barbara Cooney
1959	Time of Wonder by Robert McCloskey
1957	A Tree Is Nice by Janice Urdy (il. Marc Simont)
1957	Frog Went A-Courtin' by John Langstaff (il. Feodor Rojankovsky)
1955	Cinderella, or the Little Glass Slipper by Charles Perrault (il. Marcia Brown)
1954	Madeline's Rescue by Ludwig Bemelmans
1953	The Biggest Bear by Lynd Ward
1952	Finders Keepers by Will Lipkind (il. Nicholas Mordvinoff)
1952	The Egg Tree by Katherine Milhous
1951	Song of the Swallows by Leo Politi
1949	The Big Snow by Berta & Elmer Hader
1948	White Snow, Bright Snow by Alvin Tresselt (il. Roger Duvoisin)
1947	The Little Island by Golden MacDonald (il. Leonard Weisgard)
1946	The Rooster Crows by Maud & Miska Petersham
1945	Prayer for a Child by Rachel Field (il. Elizabeth Orton Jones)

Caldecott Medal Winners

1944	Many Moons by James Thurber (il. Louis Slobodkin)
1943	The Little House by Virginia Lee Burton
1942	Make Way for Ducklings by Robert McCloskey
1941	They Were Strong and Good by Robert Lawson
1940	Abraham Lincoln by Ingri & Edgar Parin d'Aulaire
1939	Mei Li by Thomas Handforth
1938	Animals of the Bible, A Picture Book by Helen Dean Fish (il. Dorothy P. Lathrop)